

Resolution of Council

17 September 2018

Item 4.3

Central Sydney Planning Committee - Election of Councillors

It is resolved that:

- (A) Council elect two Councillors to be members of the Central Sydney Planning Committee effective immediately and ending on 30 September 2019;
- (B) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting;
- (C) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith; and
- (D) Council appoint alternates for each member elected.

Carried unanimously.

At this stage of the meeting, the Chief Executive Officer, as Returning Officer, called upon the Acting Council Business Co-ordinator to assist with the conduct of the ballot.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the first position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator announced that one nomination had been received, namely –

Councillor Philip Thalis (nominated by Councillor Scully, seconded by Councillor Miller)

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator declared Councillor Thalis duly elected to the first position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

city of Villages

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator announced that two nominations had been received, namely –

Councillor Jess Scully (nominated by Councillor Thalis, seconded by Councillor Kok)

Councillor Christine Forster (nominated by Councillor Chung, seconded by Councillor Vithoulkas)

Councillors Scully and Councillor Forster in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the office of the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with results as follows –

Councillor Scully - 6 votes

Councillor Forster – 4 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Scully duly elected to the second position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the first alternate position (to Councillor Thalis) on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator announced that two nominations had been received, namely –

Councillor Robert Kok (nominated by Councillor Miller, seconded by Councillor Thalis)

Councillor Angela Vithoulkas (nominated by Councillor Forster, seconded by Councillor Chung)

Councillors Kok and Vithoulkas in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the office of the first alternate position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with results as follows –

Councillor Kok - 6 votes

Councillor Vithoulkas – 4 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Kok duly elected to the first alternate position (to Councillor Thalis) on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator invited nominations from Councillors for the second alternate position (to Councillor Scully) on the Central Sydney Planning Committee.

The Council Business Coordinator announced that two nominations had been received, namely –

Councillor Linda Scott (nominated by Councillor Scully, seconded by Councillor Thalis)

Councillor Angela Vithoulkas (nominated by Councillor Chung, seconded by Councillor Forster)

Councillors Scott and Vithoulkas in turn indicated acceptance of their nominations.

An election for the office of the second alternate position on the Central Sydney Planning Committee was then conducted, in alphabetical order, with results as follows –

Councillor Scott - 6 votes

Councillor Vithoulkas – 4 votes

The Acting Council Business Co-ordinator then declared Councillor Scott duly elected to the second alternate position (to Councillor Scully) on the Central Sydney Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2019.

S062388